I have an Interview With Envoy Airlines!

So, I’m sure most of you can tell what I’ll be talking about for this week’s blog, but yes, I’m very excited to say that later this week I’ll be having an interview with Envoy Airlines (the regional airline for American Airlines). I can’t tell you all how excited I am to get to talk with recruiters from Envoy since they are one of my top choices for a career in the commercial airline world. So, for this week’s post, I thought it would be great to share with you all how I’m getting prepared, why I decided to interview for Envoy, and my tips of how to get ready for an upcoming interview or ones that you will have later in your career.

Why Envoy Airlines?

If you haven’t already done so, I highly encourage you all to read one of my earlier post (Why decided the University of Oklahoma) it sort of explains why I’m interviewing for Envoy, but for those of you who don’t know one of the great things about the University of Oklahoma is how close we are to Dallas Fort Worth area, and I’m sure as many of you know that’s where both Southwest and American Airlines are headquartered. Throughout much of the school year we typically try to go visit one of these airliners, but also a lot of times representatives from the airliners will come visit and talk with us, and this year they are doing interviews with students. For example, I’m interviewing for the Cadet Envoy program which basically says “hey I’m interested in your airline or to have a career in your industry in the next few year”. But there are other programs where some of our flight instructors are looking to be offered a pipeline program with the Envoy Airline and basically have a job once they graduate and complete a certain amount of flight hours.

Now I know what most of you all are thinking “Cameron, aren’t you only a sophomore with a private pilot’s license, and why interview when you won’t get hired for anything?” Well everyone you are correct that I won’t get hired, but my main goal is to get my name out to Envoy and show that I’m very much interested in becoming a pilot for them, so it never hurts to get your name out to these industries. Trust me the more times you can talk with recruiters and show more interest in them, the better chances you have of getting hired by these companies. Plus, you never know who could be the one hiring you since you may be someone you met or talked to during your time in college. Again, it’s all about selling yourself to these people

How am I preparing?

Just like any other interview there are a few steps to take to prepare for the interview so here’s what I’m doing to prepare for my interview. Obviously my first step is to make sure I have all my documents and paper work ready to present. Typically, this includes things like your medical, driver’s license, certificates, resume, and our log book and maybe a few other things depending on what they ask for. Next, is getting my outfit ready for the interview. As they always say “dress to impress” and believe me I’m making sure every wrinkle, cress and hair is off my dress clothes. Just like any other interview, a lot of the times people get nervous on the day of it, so what I like to do is to have a song to listen to about 10-15 minutes before the interview to help calm me down and do a little bit of breathing exercises.  Finally, I’m preparing myself by going through possible questions that these recruiters could ask during the interview, which typically include question like “why did you decide to become a pilot? Why are you so interested in Envoy? Describe some of your strengths and weaknesses? How would you described yourself or hoe do other people describe you?”. By giving myself a mock interview, it helps me be quick and confident in my answers which if you can do that during an interview, they will certainly be impressed by it.

My advice

So now that I’ve shared with you all how I’m getting ready for my interview I want to share a few of my tips in case any of you have an upcoming interview or later in your career. Obviously the first one is to be prepared, come to the interview with all your documents, and of course dress to impress. Don’t be a robot, be different; what I mean by this, is don’t give the same answer that they’ve already heard, be unique and different from everyone else, make sure you stand out compared to everyone else because it will help them remember who you are. Finally, take this tip that I learned in my public speaking class last year when it comes to an interview. Avoid using these words and phrases “like, umm…, you know, so”, what my public speaking teacher told us is that when you continuously use these words, your audience tends to lose interest and credibility of what you’re talking about. If you go into the interview and avoid these words and be confident in what you’re talking about, you stand out to everyone else and give yourself more credibility as well. That’s why I think it’s important to give yourself a few mock interviews before the actual one.

Well guys that’s it for this week’s blog, Also, make sure to check out https://blog.globalair.com/  for other great blogs and featured stories on other pilot stories as well as other reviews on aviation related articles. As always guys remember that “adventure is out there!”

Leave a Reply

