The 17th annual University of Oklahoma Spring Banquet

First off I want to apologize for not posting in a while I’ve been battling a rare and weird illness along with Easter and having a bunch of test doesn’t leave a lot of free time. With the end of the year quickly approaching, this past week here at the University of Oklahoma the department of Aviation got to celebrate our year, with our 17th annual Aviation Banquet at the Memorial Union on campus Thursday April 20th. So, I thought I would share with you all our successes from this past year as well as some of mine.

Every year our department has a contest where students get to submit a theme for the banquet, and I decided to submit my idea “Adventure is OUt there” since I love the movie up, and it has OU in the theme. After the department faculty voted, I received good news that my idea was selected as this year’s theme which was extremely exciting.

(Photo credit to the OU aviation Department)

After our director of the department welcomed everyone to the banquet, and ate dinner we then moved on to our guest speaker Dr. Melchor J. Antunano who is the director of the FAA Civil Aerospace Medical Institute here in Oklahoma City, and who has won numerous awards and recognition form countries all over the world for his work in the aviation industry . During his speech, Dr. Antunano talked about how airplane companies like Boeing, Airbus, Lockheed Martin, and many other companies have evolved the design of their aircraft over the past few decades and what we are to expect from them in the years to come as far as their design process. Another unique topic that he discussed in his speech was how safety has vastly improved over the past few years. For example, Dr. Antunano talked about how the Airbus A380 had to pass the emergency evacuation test for it to become certified for flight by the FAA. He stated and even showed us the video of an airbus A380 filled with passengers (782 people) and they had to evacuate the aircraft in 90 seconds or less. As we watched the video it was like watching a scene out of a movie where people were just evacuating the aircraft at record speed and in-fact they finished the evacuation in 80 seconds, so it was awesome to see how the A380 is evacuated during an emergency and being certified by the FAA.

Dr. Melchor J. Antunano

(Photo credit to the FAA)

Finally, we then moved on to our award portion of the banquet where we recognized our soon to be graduating seniors, our spring 2017 scholarship winners, and recognizing our student organizations. As we recognized our graduating seniors, the biggest thing that stood out to everyone was the fact that over the past year we had lost nine of our flight instructors, and assistant chief flight instructors to the airlines, and military services; in addition, we will soon be losing few, but still big congratulations to the class of 2017! Next, we moved on to our scholarship recipients where I was fortunate enough to receive the Christiansen Aviation scholarship from the department to help with flight fees, and it was also awesome to see my fellow peers win a few scholarship awards as well. Finally, to finish off the night by recognizing all the student organizations in the aviation department. From the air traffic control club, the Sooner Aviation Club, the Women in aviation club, our AAAE organization, and even recognizing this past year’s flight team, overall it was a very successful year for each organization and an outstanding year in general. In fact, I also found out that I was elected Treasurer for the Sooner Aviation Club for next year, which I’m looking forward too.

In the end, it was a night filled with recognizing another successful year here at the University of Oklahoma aviation department and I certainly hope that next year will be even more successful then this year. In addition, it also was a night to remember since I got to see how active I’ve been in the department, as well as being with my fellow peers and seeing how much they’ve succeeded over the past school year. Also, I’ll post a few more pictures from the banquet in next weeks blog since I’m having trouble uploading the ones I took on my phone.

Well guys that’s it for this week’s blog, Also, make sure to check out https://blog.globalair.com/  for other great blogs and featured stories on other pilot stories as well as other reviews on aviation related articles. As always guys remember that “adventure is out there!”

Also, I want to highly encourage you all to consider applying for the 2017-2018 Calvin L Carrithers scholarship, believe me I thought I wouldn’t be selected as a recipient, but it’s been a true honor and privilege of being selected for this past year and I’ve really enjoyed sharing my experiences of blogging them and I look to keep blogging for the next few years. So, if you’re looking for some scholarship money to cover aviation expenses I encourage you to apply!!

Leave a Reply

